weekend in asheville

Our trip to Asheville, NC this weekend was so much fun. The minute Chris and I stepped out of the car we looked at each other and said, “Yeah, we should live here.” It is such a cool city. I think we are seriously considering moving after I graduate, we absolutely loved it! We met our friends big Chris and Jessica (he’s big Chris because he’s taller than my Chris) and stayed in a cabin about 5 minutes from downtown. I was pleasantly surprised that the cabin had quilts on the beds since Im trying to get inspired for my quilting class.

We went to a gallery called Blue Spiral 1 and it was one of the largest galleries Ive ever seen! And filled with the most beautiful art. One of my favorites was David Eichelberger’s ceramics.

I love his simple lines and drawings on the surface.

I was very interested in Bryant Holsenbeck’s animals. He wrapped them in strips of fabric, wire and twine.

One of my other favorites was Alice Ballards ceramics. So beautiful. She also created large acorns and leaves from white stoneware that were simple and graceful.

Lisa Clague’s ceramic sculptures were amazing. From what I could tell, even the base of this piece is ceramic. It looks like wire but I dont think it is, I couldnt touch it so I guess I cant be sure, but if it is ceramic she is a genius. How did she get it to support that much weight?! I also love that little skirt.

There were three floors of incredible art at Blue Spiral and I was just blown away and totally inspired.

A warning: be wary of Asheville cab drivers. Our first cabbie almost ran off the side of the mountain because he was trying to show big Chris a picture on his phone where he looked pregnant, and the second one missed our exit, slammed on the breaks and reversed on the highway. I was not impressed. But overall the trip was great, we did some shopping and checked out some local music and had so much fun with our friends. I’ll be back soon to post pics of a few things I got in Asheville. I hope everyone had a great weekend!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 comments so far

  1. coco8199 on

    I Love Asheville! I’m hoping to go for a visit sometime soon 🙂

  2. sara on

    It was awesome! I would love to go to Penland and take some workshops.

  3. akeck on

    It’s been a while since I’ve been to Asheville, but whenever I go, a visit to Blue Spiral is a must. They have been there a long time. It’s nice to get out of town to see some art that inspires. Asheville has a wonderful appreciation for craftsmanship at its best! I’m glad you had a good time.

  4. amanda on

    Glad you had a great time in NC!


Leave a comment