Archive for October 15th, 2007|Daily archive page

quilting and encaustic weekend

Hello darlings! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend! I had a productive weekend working on a new quilt and experimenting with encaustic- the process of painting with hot wax.

Here is how I started with the quilt:

I pieced 1.5 x 3.5″ strips together. My idea for this is that it would look like a running stitch of color.

The piecing took way longer than I expected! I even cut the white strips in between so that I could piece those together as well. This whole strip will be placed about 3/4 of the way towards the bottom of the quilt and the rest will be white.

I love the way the piecing looks on just the white strips and Im planning on piecing the rest of the white areas also to break things up a little.

I have been wanting to try encaustic for almost 2 years now. Last weekend SCAD had an art supply expo and Enkaustikos, an encaustic supplier, was there and showed me what materials to use and how to use them.

Encaustic on wood.

Paper, razor blades, encaustic on wood.

Encaustic, bird bones, feathers, wire on wood.

I love the texture of the wax. I am going to keep experimenting with collage elements and wax. I’d love to hear what you think about the progress of the quilt and the encaustic work!