midterm check-in

Ive been going non stop all weekend!

Quilting is complete on the quilt Im calling Baby Steps. So many channels.

I love the texture that the channels create. I cant wait to finish the binding and put it in the wash.

I have had this idea for a pillow since last spring and Im finally getting around to making it.

This is the Repair series. I cut the felt in strips and sew it back together.

This is the top I pieced using those strips of fabric I showed last time. This quilt looks suspiciously like this. I adore Jen and love her quilts, as well as Denise Schmidt’s (whom she interned for during grad school). I think their designs are modern and accessible and I feel Im learning a lot by letting their design sensibilities influence me while Im still getting the basics.

These are the fabrics I am using for my next quilt which will have more of my aesthetic. Simple and clean (at least I hope that will be the outcome).

4 comments so far

  1. Amanda on

    Girl, your fingers should be numb from all the work you got finished this weekend! Are you machine quilting? Because if you hand quilted all that I am just going to go ahead a build a little alter to you on my sewing machine…

  2. calegar on

    Wow! I can’t believe how much you have done. It looks amazing! I love the pillows as well. Do you sleep, or just sew on caffine! You must be exhausted! It’s beautiful!

  3. hascott on

    Sara, I love those pillows. I think you could really sell them. They are so simple yet beautiful! Make more, I bet shop scad would eat them up.

  4. […] back is assymetrical and the inside is the pink/magenta wool like this pillow. Ive worn it a few times and it is very comfortable and cozy! I’ll try to get some pics of me […]


Leave a comment